Amateur Baked Eggs part 2 & 3

    I decided to venture into baked eggs territory once more this past week. This time I used cream instead of milk and the concoction came out beautifully!

    Part 2: I substituted the cured meat with some sauteed oyster mushrooms. I just added some salt and black pepper to taste. They were wonderful and gave a nice ‘meaty’ texture that carnivores would miss in other vegetarian dishes. Le bf has conjured up a new recipe for sauteed mushrooms so I will try his suggestion the next time.

    20121022-195030.jpg

    Part 3: In addition to the beef salami I used during Part 1, I also chopped up some bbq chicken to go into the ramekins. This lent some sweet notes to the baked eggs giving the taste a little more depth than if I were to use salamis solely. Although I loved it, the boy prefered if the taste was singular and he would probably appreciate it more If I had separated the two meat ingredients. Well, to each his own I say. :)

    20121022-195204.jpg

    I can’t wait to try out some other flavor combinations. What kind of ingredients do you usually use? Or what would you like to have in your baked eggs?

Leave a Reply

